Header graphic for print
Global Media and Communications Watch The International Legal Blog for the Tech, Media and Telecoms Industry
Posted in Advertising, Broadcasting, Entertainment & Content, intellectual property, Internet, Technology Eugene LowAnthonia Ghalamkarizadeh

Webinar: From homes to stadiums – Brand presence in esports

On 27 and 28 March, our global IP team will take a look at some of the emerging opportunities and risks for brand owners exploring opportunities in the esports market: from innovative advertising and marketing activities during tournaments and within games, sponsorship of tournaments or teams, to merchandise and fan items (see earlier post here). Esports refers to competitive video gaming at a professional level, with competitors playing matches in arenas with huge live and online audiences, accompanied by match commentators. The buzz and spectacle accompanying those matches, as well as their audience reach, easily reach Olympic spheres, and outshine most traditional sports events.

The numbers speak for themselves: esports have generated over US$900 million in revenues in 2018, with revenues expected to grow to US$1.4 billion by 2020. Today, it is lined up to be the next billion dollar industry, reaching broad global audiences and attracting heavy investment and endorsement from major brands across all sectors. Meanwhile, many questions around right ownership and regulatory implications in this dynamic multi-stakeholder industry are still uncharted territory.

This webinar will cover:

  • Latest trends in the esports market: Where is it headed and why is it attractive for brands across all industries?
  • Who owns the rights in what? Software, game formats, real-world representations, personality rights, and more.
  • What should my company bear in mind when cooperating with event organizers, software companies and broadcasters?
  • How might the new draft EU Digital Single Market Directive impact esports broadcasting?

We’re holding two sessions which cover the same content but will run for different time zones – here are the details:

Session One

Wednesday, 27 March 2019

09.00 GMT

10.00 CET

17.00 HK

Session Two

Thursday, 28 March 2019

12.00 EDT

16.00 GMT

17.00 CET

Click here to register for this webinar or contact Joshua Prietzel for further details

Last month we launched our third Global Intellectual Property Outlook, covering esports and many more legal, political and technological trends transforming the field of intellectual property. You can read the Outlook here.