Header graphic for print
Global Media and Communications Watch The International Legal Blog for the Tech, Media and Telecoms Industry
Posted in Technology Dr. Christian E. Mammen

Emerging patent law issues: IoT webinar update

On 20 April, Hogan Lovells hosted the second instalment of the 2017 webinar series on emerging issues with the Internet of Things (IoT). This instalment focussed on the potential patent law issues presented by IoT technology.

Dr. Chris Mammen, a partner in Hogan Lovells San Francisco office, considered how these issues can impact companies in the IoT space, and discussed what companies should do now to prepare for the inevitable disputes that will arise.

The IoT creates many opportunities for patent protection: from sensors and processors, to transmitters, hubs and servers, and even the processing algorithms themselves. Companies in this space must think about which areas are or will be of most value (and how these can be protected) and which areas have the potential to cause problems now or in the near future.

The range of potentially patentable areas gives rise to a number of issues which were considered on the webinar. These include:

  • whether platforms should be open or controlled,
  • how companies might license and monetize low value IoT technology,
  • how to determine the value of specific individual patents in complex IoT devices,
  • the recent rise of non-practicing entities (NPEs) looking to commercialize IoT patents, and
  • what the future holds for IoT innovation.

The increase in patent activity and investment in the IoT space means that inevitably there will be a corresponding increase in litigation. The webinar also looked at how companies can best prepare for these disputes.  In particular, it’s clear that traditional defensive strategies may not be suited to IoT technology, so companies must be proactive – this means evaluating their existing IP portfolios, obtaining licences for essential technologies, and actively monitoring the market.

For a full recording of the webinar, please click here.

For the presentation slides, please click here.

Internet of Things: cybersecurity workshop

Our next IoT webinar in the series is a workshop on Cybersecurity on 24 May 2017 at 9:00 a.m. PDT | 12:00 p.m. EDT | 5:00 p.m. BST | 6:00 p.m. CEST.

During the webinar, members of our global cybersecurity team will consider:

  • What is the anatomy of a cyber-attack on an IoT device?
  • What are differences to handling a data breach in a company?
  • What to do when the attack happens?
  • What is my liability as a manufacturer?
  • What are my options to get recourse?
  • What if the attack happens in Asia or Europe?
  • How can we best prepare for the attack?

Please contact us to register your interest.